Annacone and Luthi combine to win ATP Coach of the Year

It took Annacone two years, but he and Luthi helped Federer to another Slam crown.


Paul Annacone and Severin Luthi, the coaches of 17-time Grand Slam champion Roger Federer, have won the ATP 2012 Coach of Year award. Annacone and Luthi, who coached the Swiss to his first Grand Slam title since 2010 when he won Wimbledon, received 584 votes, or 49% of the total, to 37% for Ivan Lendl (442 votes,), who coached Andy Murray to his first Grand Slam title at the US Open, as well as the Olympic gold medal.

Javier Piles, who coached David Ferrer to the world No. 5 ranking as well as his first Masters Series crown, received 6% of the vote, while Franco Davin, the coach of the resurgent Juan Martin Del Potro grabbed 5%, and Marian Vajda, the coach of No. 1 Novak Djokovic received 1%.

Here are the descriptions of the candidates qualifications.



Leave a Reply